Unhappy Ever After

Day 15: Sympathetic Villain

Today’s prompt is to write a poem about a villain who faces an unfortunate situation which serves to humanize, though not exonerate, him/her. Since villains are usually my favorite characters in any story, I’ve rather enjoyed this. There are so many good ones to choose from, I decided to go with the one who truly terrified me as a child. I’m referencing the Grimm version; I prefer the dark origins of the happy, sanitized tales you may be familiar with.

Pitch Black

In the wild, a new mate
does not tolerate
a previous mate’s young.

Her mother was dead;
my offspring instead
should’ve ruled the throne.

Raised her as my own
until she outshone
and posed a threat.

But she wouldn’t die.
Spite of many a try:
lace, comb, and apple.

Finally thought her dead;
she got married instead,
after awakening love.

Lost the status I earned.
My dancing feet burned
until I became ash
as a black as her hair.
The fairest of fair,
the cruelest of fates.

 

3 thoughts on “Unhappy Ever After

  1. Pingback: Time to Rhyme – The Cynical Optimist

Leave a comment