A Poem is a Song and a Song is a Poem

NaPoWriMo Day 17: Music Poem

Today in the better-late-than-never department, here is a poem inspired by a song, using said song as a title. I went to see a big band concert yesterday and an opera today, so I have plenty of material to draw from. I think this is a fitting choice because I love Gershwin, and “rhapsody” in music has its origins in Ancient Greek epic poetry. Weirdly, this is the second poem I’ve written around the color blue. The first is here, written during my first ever NaPoWriMo: https://mizwriter.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/shady/

Rhapsody in Blue

The ancient Greeks
wouldn't know what to do
with a Rhapsody in blue.

Their culture was the peaks,
but they hadn't a word
for blue---how absurd!

They gave us the word "cyan,"
like a Santorini roof,
but that's no proof.

I'm not exactly buying
Homer's wine-dark sea;
it sounds more purple-y.

Unsaid doesn't equal unseen.
We can only guess what they mean.

Leave a comment