It’ll Hunt You

NaPoWriMo Day 19: Haunting/Hunting Poem

This prompt was to write about something I’m haunted by or haunts me, then change “haunt” to ‘hunt.” I spend most of the year at work writing about scary things, so very little scares me at this point. What I chose isn’t something I contemplate often, but it’s certainly a horrifying prospect

Very Little Hunts Me

I'm not hunted by spiders.
They're free pest control.
I'm not hunted by snakes.
Their scales are soft and shiny.

I'm not hunted by heights,
though my balance is questionable.
I'm not hunted by flying,
though I find it tedious.

I'm not hunted by thunderstorms.
Lightning is mesmerizing.
I'm not hunted by the dark;
I dream in the darkness.

I'm hunted by the thought of
being trapped inside my own body
my mind completely intact.

Leave a comment